Fall 2015 Couture – Atelier Versace

We are always used to our polished and edgy Versace girls so when Donatella described her latest Atelier Versace collection to showcase the softer side of her girls, everyone was excited. I’m especially anxious to see her latest move to rebrand Versace. Let’s face it, the company has been in decline and I thought welcoming Anthony Vaccarello to design for Versus would inspire her to do the same for the main brand.

_VER0104

_VER0156

The collection was certainly a departure from what we normally see on a Versace runway. There was a romantic feel that I never felt from this Italian house. Just look at the runway, I never thought I would see the day Donatella would embrace floral that much. I remember this feeling when Roberto Cavalli went the opposite way, from romantic to edgy. The edges were softer, everything was frayed. I was shocked to see an explosion of chiffon on one of the outfits. I’m also loving her deconstruction. I love the hard and soft balance maintained by her corsets. Not the best dresses of couture season but I hope this would trickle down to her ready-to-wear collections. And please do something about accessories. I have never seen a Versace purse that made me smile for a long time now.

_VER0274

_VER0934

Leave a Reply

